A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is one of the pillars of society. A nation that prioritizes its education system is investing in its future citizens especially considering ever increasingly global economy. While a national primary and secondary curriculum with identical standards for all students seems like a sound concept, there are various factors and implications that must be take into account. In order to develop a plan for feasible educational reform, it is important to consider how how such a plan will actually affect those involved.

A national curriculum requires that the same educational plan be instituted at every school. However, this assumes that every school has the same resources available to implement such a plan. However, this is not the reality. School districts vary widely in the funding that is allocated to them, much of it depending on the proporty value of the district's homes. A school in rural Kentucky is certainly not going to have the same materials or personnel as a school in San Francisco. The school in Kentucky will struggle much more to implement the national curriculum and may ultimately not be able to do so. The school in San Francisco, however, may more funding that the curriculum would require which they would then not be able to divert to other activities as it would not follow the national standards.

A second consideration in the proposal should be the aptitude of students. A national curriculum may not be adequate to address the various needs of students. All children develop at different paces and some may fall behind or advance ahead compared to their peers. If a child is is not hitting all the milestones, how will remediation be done? If a child is clearly performing at a higher level, should we limit that child to the standards set in the national curriculum? A national curriculum simply does not consider the unique development of all students.

All humans have individual talents. While some may excel in the humanities or arts, others may thrive in the hard sciences. Others, still, may ultimately find a better fit in technical pursuits. A national curriculum would box students in without allowing them to explore their natural gifts. A child who has the potential to become a piano virtuoso may never have the chance to experiment with a piano if the national curriculum does not allow for it. A child who may feel most satisfied working as an electrician may never have the opportunity to circuit some wires. A national curriculum may not make allowances for innate talents.

While a national curriculum seems like a logical concept in fortifying a nation's education system, many factors have to be considered. Schools and districts may not be able to function within national standards. However, if a system is developed that addresses these concerns, among others, providing students with a set of fundamental skills and knowledge would ultimately be beneficial for a country as it molds its citizens into contributing and capable members.