The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received fro viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As the business manager of a televesion staton, the individual is rightly concerned about the increase of viewer complaints and decresed in local advertising. While the manager has put forth what seems like a logical solution, the proposal rests on several assumptions. In order to effectively address the problem, it is important to consider all factors in the situations.

First the, manager assumes that the complaints of viewers is a result of decreased coverage regarding weather and local news. However, the manager should consider any other changes in the network that have occurred in the past year. For example, has the quality of the coverage changed? Have the usual show hosts been replaced? Has the network changed the tone of their coverage? Has the network done anything that may have offended its audience? Any of these occurances may have affected viewership and advertisement deals. The actual feedback of viewers and businesses has not been presented. The manager should reach out to its viewers and patrons to discern why they are no longer satisfied with the network or why they have cancelled the advertising contracts.

Secondly, there may be external factors outside of the network's control that may be affecting viewership and business advertisement. For example, if the economy is sluggish, viewers may have more sour dispositions and businesses may have less funds available for marketing. The borough itself may be undergoing changes in infrastructure, environment, or other area that is affecting the general attitudes of the local parties. For instance, a construction project may be imhibitng residents and business from carrying out their normal activities and affecting their relationship with the network. Again, it is important for the manager to survey viewers and businesses to discover the exact reasons for decreased patronage.

Finally, the manager assumes that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level will attract more viewers and sponsorships. Even if the proposal is adopted, it may not bring the desired result. The increase in complaints and decrease in contracts may be a result of a an unrelated occurance. Without futher information from viewers and business, it is impossible to know.

The manager has identified a problem and proposed a coherent solution. A closer look at the workings of the network is in its a best interest. The solution may very well be to restore the weather and local news coverage to its previous levels. However, without the direct feedback of viewers and business, it would be imprudent to put forth a plan that does not consider all factors that may be at play.