The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in his memorandum states his concerns about loosing his sales on advertising and , wants to restore the same. He is of the opinion that a change in their content would help to satisfy the augmented discontent and lost sales in advertising. Though his concerns seem plausible at the first glance, his argument is not entirely validated.

The author mentions his late- night news program covers national issues , more than weather and local news issues, and doing so, they have received complains about covering local news. But the author fails to shed light on the number of complains and criticism recieved against the coverage. When a national broadcasting services reaches a million people, a discontent among st ten to twelve people is negligible. Thus, altering the content for such a minor number is preposterous.

Weather coverage and predictions influence almostall citizens , and it is important to know the same. However, In a tech friendly generation where every other phone is prompted by google about the upcoming climate change and weather. And Hundreds of newspapers giving data and feeds about the rains and other predictions. It is not always important for a channel to cover weather at its priority. The point being that national concerns are far more important then weather concerns, as their are hundreds of sources available to gain the know about of it.

More about , the author is concerned about his advertising sales, which are dropping prodigiously. However, it might be dropping because they may have found a better source of transmission of disseminating their products. In this case, even if they modify their content, the adverting agency will still not return to them. Other possibility is that the viewers might not be interested in watching the show late night , as on can be tired post working hours . In such a case people might want to watch entertainment channels and not national news.

To fight such a concern , changing the content wont be of any help but changing the time would be a solution. Thus the authors argument falls short .

A more plausible reason for the sudden complains and drop of sales be, that the news channel has mundane news and the reporters fail to attract their

attention. For eg: People will always like to watch reliable news and listen to it from voluble reporters like barkha dutt. If the channel fails in these terms, one might just shift the channel and watch other sources.

Thus changing the content might not help, but changing the reporters might.

Over all to sum up everything, the television station should analyze the TRP of the news station and , figure out the main concerns , in order to allow the shift of content. Also the author would have given more concrete date to support his argument and concerns , for his concerns to look more plausible and genuine. Thus it would be a cogent argument and the, television station would readily agree for the same.