The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager claims here that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous strcture in order to attract audiences and advertisers. To justify his claim, he reasons that there are complaints from the viewers and advertising contract cancellations. Stated in this way, the manager fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be better evaluated. Hence, this memorandum can be considered incomplete and thus have many flaws.

First of all, the manager readily assumes that the decline in weather and local news has constituted to viewers complaints, and concluded that the television program has failed to attract its audience.This is merely an assumption made without logical reasoning, as he didn't pay attention on the overal trend of the number of viewers over the past year, as well as the proportion of complaints vesus the increase in channel's rating. For example, while only 2% of the total viewers has made negative comments, there may be a significant 10% increase in the number of new audiences every month. In that case, the station has no need to restore weather and local news as stated.

Furthermore, the manager also notes that the change in program structure the withdrawal of advertisement, thus led to the loss in revenues. This again is a weak and unsupported claim, as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the former and the later. To illustrate further, restoring program to its former level does not mean that advertisers will revise their decisions. On the other hand, there may be some other factors involved, for example, the shift the trend of advertising channels. Advertisers may find it more profitable advertising through the internet and social media channel. Changing the current program structure may eventually lead to another decline in contract cancellation. If the manager provided evidence that advertisers are not likely to use other medium and the contract cancellation is certainly the result in weather and local news’ length, then it would have been a lot more convincing.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is based on fallacious terminology and thus invalid. To strengthen further, he must provide additional quantitative evidences, with detailed analysis of whether it is valid to restore the time for local and weather news.