A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the issue of whether a nation should require all of its students to study the centralized nation curriculum until they enter the university. Indisputably, it is essential that the government set a level of knowledge students should acquire when they reach certain age. However, it is not necessary that students, regardless to their ethnicity, health conditions, and geographical backgrounds, study the totally same curriculum. Thus, I generally disagree with the topic and would argue that there are several key factors that are needed to take into account before giving an opinion on solid ground.

First of all, students in different geographical areas have different cultural and social understanding. They may speak different dialects, and dialects that are completely different from the official national language may hinder students the ability to comprehend the lesson. Moreover, they may have different cultural understanding, making it becomes difficult when it comes to sociology or religious studies. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the Southern Thailand, where people speak malay dialects and practice Islam, which is antithetical to the other parts of the country. In this circumstance, obviously some textbooks must be adjusted to suit another beliefs.

Furthermore, the argument overlooks health condition of each student, both mentally and physically. It is difficult that students with certain conditions such as down syndrome and autism will be able to attend classes in general schools without special assistance. In addition, students who are blind or deaf may also need separate syllabus which allow them to perform to the best of their abilities.

Admittedly, there are several benefits arises from unified curriculum, as it is easier to prepare most students to university entrance examination or other higher educations. Nevertheless, the above argument is not sufficient enough to support that the author’s claim is right, since higher education is not an absolute goal for all students.

In conclusion, despite few benefits, as long as some key factors are involved, national curriculum should be created with respect to all kinds of people in the country. Significantly, it is important to analyze each key factor before releasing the national curriculum.