A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extant to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain the reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Although it is very important for a student to have a firm foundation and have a wide knowledge, it is also important not to force the child to study the subjects he doesn't have an inclination towards. So the common curriculum should be followed upto when the child is 15. After that he should be allowed to pic

and choose his subjects.

Schooling is the place where the student acquires a firm foundation. A place where he can acquire all the basic knowledge that is needed for each field. This base becomes very importent for the student as it is a framwork that would help the child become a responsible and a well informed adult. Let's take the case of a child who loves maths and physics but doesn't show any interest towards health sciences, if the school allowes him to study only those subjects that he feels an inclination towards, then the child would be loosing on the knowledge that would teach him how to look after and take care of his body. This would deprive him of a very critical part aspect that he should know, irrespective of wether he likes the child likes to learn it or not.

Thinking on the same lines we would immediatly be able to point out that the child, to make a well informed descision of which subjects to choose during his schooling, would require him to first know what those subjects actually are. How could somebody say if they like something or not without trying it? So the common curriculum would serve to allow them to taste a bit of all the varities that are available for the child, so that he takes a well informed descision of which course to choose once he is older.

All this being said, the time the child joines schooling till the time they enter college feels like a

lot of time. Though the child requires a firm hold on basics and a good variety to experience the diversity, the duration for which he should be following the same national curriculum should not be too long as this might be counter productive for the student. Coming to the same example as stated in before about the child not liking science and math over health sciences, if the child is asked to study Biology until his college years, he might loose interest the entire learning process making him score low due to lack of interest. This might in-turn affect his performance in the subjects that he likes as well. All this might affect the child negatively and demotivate him.

So to conclude although it is very important for a student to have a firm foundation and have a wide

knowledge, it is also important not to force the child to study the subjects he doesn't have an inclination towards. So the common curriculum should be followed upto when the child is 15. After that he should be allowed to pic and choose his subjects.