The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers where concerned with our nations coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled there advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing on any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Though the authors claim of trying to restore the changes made to the news program time split up for local, national & weather news to attract more viewers and prevent loosing on advertiment profit looks like a proper solution, there seems to be a few pit holes in reasoning and lacking of data that might be essential to come to the authers conclusion

Firstly, the auther does not tell us why the late-night news program had thought of alloting more time for the national news than the weather and the local news in the first place. Maybe there was a request from a majority of viewers to make that change? Or was it because the time alloted was split depending upon content, because the amount of national news was more than the local and the weather news that more time was allocated to the former? If that was the case then not only will the news channel be able to allote more time for local news and wether due to lack of content but also will not be logical to restrore to the old time split up

Secondly, we don't know why the advertising companies(add. comps.) have cancelled the contract. The auther has not mentioned a decrease in the viewers, so it cannot be concluded that the problem faced by the add. comp. is with the content of the show. A feedback form sent to all the add. comp. who the news programs have lost might give a clear idea of the actual reson for there contract withdrawals. Maybe the add. comp. had an issue about the news program being 'late- night' and so might have felt that its better to show there advertisements during the evenings when the children will be awake to watch them. Or maybe the company that is advertising has gone bankrupt or that they have started gaining a high amount of profit that they don't feel the need to advertise and hence withdrew the contract.

Thirdly, we just know that the viewers where 'concerned' with the stations coverage of weather and local news. Maybe the viewers don't want any change in the time devoted to those 2 things but feel that the news shown on the channel relating to weather and local news contradict that of the other channels, in this way they are concerned with the coverage maybe? In that case it's better to ask the viewers to state exactly what are changes they need and in what way they aren't happy.