A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The children are future of a nation. They are the ones who going to run the nation and be responsible for it’s development in the future. To handle those responsibilities children need to be qualified enough to perceive them accordingly. Therefore, it is very important to form a strong base in their formative years. Education plays an important role in forming the basis of child’s future by not only helping their development at personal front, but it also plays a vital role in making them responsible citizens. Hence, providing all children with same benefits of education is very necessary. Thus, the curriculum being followed in a nation should be similar. However, nation should not impose curriculum blindly and strictly, schools must be provided with some liberty to alter it as per the needs of students so they could be provided with more benefits.

Having same national curriculum for all the students of a nation is having many positive aspects. Consider, For example, a student whose parents are either in defence or government service. Nature of parents job is is very transferable for such students. Their parents keep on being transferred from one city to another on regular basis as part of their job. As a result, students need to move from one school to another throughout their school life. Here comes the importance of having same national curriculum for all students. If it’s not, then for such students it would be a disadvantage as they would need to adapt to new curriculum, and once they adapt to it their parents might get transferred again. Hence, existence of different curriculum will always keep impeding progress and learning curves for these students. In my opinion, presence of common curriculum in a nation would smoothen school life of many such students without obstructing their learning and creativity.

Other positive aspect of having same curriculum for all students is the opportunity of providing them all with the same benefits of education.For instance, every students have to move to college after the school studies are over. We are living in the age of competition. Everyone needs to clear some entrance exams before being admitted to the college of their choice. In this instance, if some students are following a certain curriculum and others are following a different one, then students whose curriculum is closer to the syllabus of entrance exams would be benefited more than the ones whose curriculum is distant. Apparently all students won’t be equally benefited and hence these exams would be doing prejudice to them. For example, in India we have many education boards and also a national body to automate curriculum which is NCERT, but not all education boards follow it. Thus, for a student coming from Rajasthan board (one of the state board), it’s very difficult to compete for engineering entrance exams like JEE, where it’s easier for students from CBSE and ICSE boards. Thus, all students should possess same education and skills if they had to compete at same level. This could only be ensured if they are all provided with same curriculum guidelines.

However, a nation shouldn’t make schools to follow these guidelines rigorously, they must be provided with some liberty to make changes in their curriculums. Not all students have same interest and learning capabilities. Some are fast learners, while some are average and rest are extremely slow. Having same syllabus for all students with different capabilities and interests would somehow result in dropping their interest in subjects. To overcome such a situation and keep students motivated and interested in studies, schools must vary their curriculums.

Finally, on recapitulating I would emphasise that having same educational guidelines throughout a nation is a good idea. However, it shouldn’t restrict schools from moulding it to some extent to benefit students with different capabilities.