The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Memorandum from the business manager of a television station claims that reducing coverage time for weather and local news during late-night news has resulted in increase of complaints from viewers about station's coverage of weather and local news, and also local businesses that used to advertise during late-night new program has cancelled their contracts. And it also claims that restoring coverage time back would attract more views and would stop local businesses to cancel their contracts with the station. This memorandum at first might give a glimpse of being correct but when analysed throughly one would see many flaws and defects. It lacks information to reach to the conclusion made.

Let's start with the first claim, memorandum states that over the past year they station increased coverage time for national news and given less time to weather and local news. In this claim memorandum doesn't state any specific increase or decrease in time for national or weather and local news coverage. This time could be varying from 1 minute to any time difference one can assume. Let's say it's been increase in time for national new coverage os 5 minutes, so if we analyse the claim, we would understand that merely 5 minutes increase in coverage time for national news won't result in what this memorandum claims. Secondly, if weather and local news coverage is reduced by 5 minutes then also it would seem unreasonable to blame this reduced time for increased complaints and cancellation of contracts by local businesses. Due to lack of information this claim doesn't hold any ground.

Secondly, memorandum claims that due reduction in coverage time for local news during late-night hours local businesses has cancelled their contracts with the station. First coverage time is reduced for late-night hours, there are very less viewers during that time day as most are sleeping. So blaming this reduction in coverage time of local news for cancellation of contracts isn't relatable. If we are provided with proper data of viewers then still we could link it and make some judgement on basis analysing that. But due to non-availability of this number of viewers we cannot support the claim.

Claim states that coverage hours were varied for late-night hours, if we talk in general then we can say that analysing and claiming something by the data collected for that time doesn't make any sense as late-night hours are assumed to be inactive hours for most viewers.

About local businesses cancelling their contract, reason could be increased advertisement costs also or may be there is some other alternate way like hoardings or some other cheaper and more popular way to advertise.

Lastly this memorandum concludes that moving coverage time back to what it was a year back would increase number of viewers. This claim seems very unclear due to lack of supporting evidence and data of viewers in those late-hours. And also we cannot confirm that this restoration of coverage time would make local businesses not to cancel their contracts.

Finally, after analysing all possible flaws in the memorandum I would say that due to lack of data, supporting evidence and clarity I don't agree with claim that restoring coverage hours to previous year would attract more viewers and station won't loose any more revenue due to cancellation of advertisement contracts by local businesses.