A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The issue states that a nation should mandate all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they come of age when they are admitted in colleges. A national curriculum has a number of significant benefits which ensure better education and shaping of an individual, as compared with a non-homogenous distribution of education systems across the states of a nation. While having the liberty to teach what they consider is important, in the absence of a national curriculum, institutions may not be fully capable of deciding what's best for a student to learn.

The most fundamental aspect of a national curriculum is the homogeneity in the levels of subjects and the inclusion of all or most facts of the world without personal or local bias. One would like to imagine going to a school where one is taught only the subject(s) one is fond of, but how would one know what subject(s) those are if one is not exposed to all of them at first? A national curriculum ensures all students are taught everything with equal emphasis on each of the components of the curriculum without favouring any particular part, so that a student, when they come of an age when they can pick what's best for themselves, can learn without the idea that they missed out on discovering something that they might have liked better. As against this, a school which has their own modified curriculum might include components in their curriculum that would prepare individuals for fields of study that they teach in higher levels, or even worse, they might only teach the students those subjects that woudl later evolve into specific professions of their school's picking, thus influencing a student's life to the point that they don't possess sufficient knowledge or the ability to pick for themselves.

Another very saliant feature of a country-wide homogenized curriculum is the evaluation of students at the end of their schooling to further admit them in respective colleges and universities based on how they fare. A standard of such an evaluation can only be set if the students are known to have been exposed to the same level of education in their childhood, thus, avoiding any misfortune or inequality of sorts. Such a mechanism cannot be better achieved in a nation with multiple, incongruous curriculums.

When they enter college, supposing they were each taught different curriculums, how would the professors at the college gauge what they know and teach them together according to that information. One student might have studied history at a length, while another might have delved into purely sciences of the body, and a third might have been taught just the magic of numbers in our lives. Such a heterogenously-educated batch of students would not agree on any level of discussion and thus, would render the education endorsed by the college professionals almost entirely useless as a whole.

In conclusion, I believe it is safe to state that a national curriculum eliminates the chance of a biased set of subjects, broadens the student's horizons the best, keeps in mind and in practice, a certain standard of evaluation, shapes students to be compatible with each other and the rest of the world, and in time, prepares them to pick a professional stream for themselves. The importance of such a homogenized curriculum cannot be emphasized more as the most important resource of a nation is its people and all people begin at school.