A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Although a national curriculum allow students to learn basic information, it stifles the way students learn and how teachers approach teaching. A national curriculum limits the knowledge that students acquire and does not create room for flexibility. Thus, I disagree with the recommendation that students should study the same national curriculum

Every child is unique, and each student has a way of understanding a concept. A national curriculum will put a system in place that compel students to learn a concept the same way. For instance, some students learn vocabulary by writing new words down and formulating sentences out of it whiles some learn it by phonics. A national curriculum might choose one method of teaching over another and this will hinder the very students they want to improve

Teachers know their student best and know the methods that works best for a particular group of student. By introducing a national curriculum, teachers are limited to a particular approach in teaching a subject. As stated earlier, students have different ways of learning, thus teachers have to continually develop techniques that all student to have a basic understanding of a particular concept

A national curriculum limits the knowledge students learn. This is because a group of people decides what enough for students to study is. This in turn does not create room for flexibility and does not make students curious. All they know is to study a particular concept and pass examination. This does not foster people who are inquirers and creative.

The idea of national curriculum is laudable in some regards but it is far stretched. In place of a national curriculum, there should be a national guideline or standard. This must be flexible but at the same time allow the student to study some basic information that is essential in all aspect of life. Basic information such as Mathematics, Science, and English just to name a few. A basic knowledge of English will teach students how to express themselves. Basic Mathematics and science will allow students to understanding finance, interpret data and know how the universe and nature functions. This guideline will teach students know what the need to learn before they become adults

There is a hackneyed quote that “if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing its stupid”. Thus, we do not have to force teachers and students to teach and learn the same thing the same way. Rather we should create a national standard for that allows the student to have basic knowledge and is flexible enough for them to explore other areas and be creative.