A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is often one of the most important predictors of a child's success and good fortune in life. However, education widely varies across towns, cities, states, and nations. Countries should require their students to study the same curriculum until they enter college to standardize the level of education across the nation and to produce well rounded students.

By having a national curriculum, the quality of education can be standardized across the country. In the United States, education varies across different states, with the quality of this education also varying. States like Alabama and Mississippi are lacking in education and are ranked as states with the worst education in the country. Students born in Alabama or Mississippi may have a disadvantage in life due to a lower quality in education. Having a national curriculum would allow students from any state to have access to the same information. This would prevent any student from being at a disadvantage based on where they were raised.

Another advantage to a national curriculum would be the ability to produce well rounded students in the country. By having a standard curriculum in which students are required to take important subjects like English, History, Math, Science and a language, students will be able to learn a variety of topics. Well rounded students are beneficial because it allows students to explore many facets of education before deciding on a major in college, exposing them to many different fields. While a student may not enjoy learning about World War II, there is some information that is crucial to know as a global and national citizen.

However, this adoption of a national curriculum has the possibility of failing if it is not implemented correctly. A downside of a national curriculum is the chance that the wrong people are in charge of designing the curriculum. Careful thought and correct individuals are needed to ensure that the curriculum is fair and well balanced. For example, some people believe that sex education is not neccessary and would not include it in a national curriculum. This would not be advantageous and would be controversial. Additionally, bias may occur in the writing of the curriculum, leaving out unfavorable parts of history or the history of marginalized groups.

There should be a national curriculum to standardize education across a nation and to produce well rounded citizens. A child from one part of the country should not be disadvantaged compared to another child from a different part of the country with respect to education. All citizens of a nation deserve the same education, as long as that curriculum is well-developed. While the nation needs to be careful in the creation of a national curriculum, if done right, it is advantageous.