A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Whether students should be taught the same cirriculum prior to entering college is a thorny issue that has been the issue of a fierce debate in the academic community. On the one hand, proponents of that view claim that all students should have be taught the same material, and, therfore, have the same chance to enter the university of their choosing. On the other hand, the opposing view suggests that should be able to customize the classes they teach, in order to give better incentives to their students and that the students should be able to choose classes of their affinity. As regards my view, I am of the opinion that the teaching process should be altered and adjusted, if possible, to the needs of the students; therefore, I agree with the latter opinion.

To begin with, I believe that students are easily distracted and filled with ennui when they participate in a class they are not interested in. It is a fact that students nowadays are facing more and more distractions compared to earlier times, mainly due to the internet and the social medias. As a result, in order for the teaching proccess to draw their attention, the teacher should be able to adapt to his/her students' interests and needs. To illustrate that idea more clearly, consider a teacher who can identify where the difficulties of a student lie and provide him/her with additional material which did not exist in the original cirriculum.

Furthermore, I have the firm conviction that, since the cognitive abilities of the students diversify, the same should apply to the cirriculum they are taught. For example, consider a stunted student and a student aiming for the Ivy League Universities. If those students are forced to study from the same cirriculum, then at least of one them will not be benefited from the teaching process. So, the teacher should first consider his audience and then shape his/her class. Nevertheless, I have to concede that an unmonitored selection of the cirriculum by a teacher could lie other risks. For example, a teacher could choose to narrow the cirriculum down in order to reduce the hours of his/her work, and in that way the student could be inadequately prepared for college.

To recapitulate, teachers should have the freedom to adjust their course to their students. Nevertheless, to avoid unpleasant surprises for students in the college admission examinations, the cirriculum they choose should be first inspected by an impartial committe, who could identify the cognitive abilities and aims of the students.