“A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer”

Some people support the opinion that all students in a country should have a unit national curriculum while some believe that it should be decide by schools, which curricula is better to educate before entering the college. There are some pros and cons about this that should be considered.

A national curriculum would be beneficial in a number of respects. Firstly, by having a common core curriculum we can focus on basic skills and knowledge. Furthermore, students would have a chance to identify their interests and follow them in colleague. Secondly, a unit school curriculum provides a predictable foundation and students could compete with each other in applying for universities and acquire job opportunities. Actually it would help to ensure that evaluation under same criteria is feasible. In addition, college administrator and faculty could more easily select course materials for freshmen that are neither below nor above their level of educational experience.

However, a common curriculum that is also an exclusive one would pose certain problems, which might outweigh the benefits, noted above. First of all it limits freedom and creativity for teachers and students, and this course courses don’t establish on the basis of student’s interest. The public's reasoning about standards is largely misunderstood because of a reasoning fallacy of generalizing that if something is good for an individual, it is good for everyone. For example: High scores on tests grant entry to elite universities, therefore high scores must be right for the nation as a whole. Most parents would probably like their children to have high scores. However, looking at our nation as a whole we should come to a different conclusion. In that situation we would want a combination of people that are able to be leaders, followers, heroes, creators, producers, so that the society could function for the benefit of everyone.

Secondly, the inflexible nature of a uniform curriculum would preclude the inclusion of programs, courses, and materials that are primarily of regional or local significance. For example, Tabriz, in Iran's historic Azerbaijan region, requires children at certain grade levels to learn about the Turkish language, carpet industry, history, culture and traditions about the city. A national curriculum might not allow for this feature.

In my opinion curriculum standards should become more connected to community and student needs. Due to that it could be more flexible and consider some time intervals between national curriculum for each region. Therefore every region could have beneficial programs for students.

In conclusion, implementation the same national curriculum for elementary and secondary education would amount to a double edge sword. While it would serve as an insurance policy against a populate ignoramuses, at same time it might serve to obliterate cultural diversity and tradition. The optimal government approach is a balance one that imposes a basic curriculum yet leaves the rest up to each state.