A nation should require all of its students to study under the same national curriculum.

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station states that the time dedicated to weather and local news should be raised to the previous level in order to get more viewers in the television program and also stop losing the revenues related to advertising. It presents the shortage of time for weather and local news generating most of the complaints from the viewers as an evidence, along with the nullification of the advertising contracts from the local businesses. However, before justifying this, it must answer the following three questions to evaluate its evidences.

First of all, the prompt has assumed that the variation in the time for the late night news program has resulted in the complaints from the viewers. As most of the complaints came from the viewers about the coverage of weather and local news, the time associated with these two might not be an issue. There could have been a discrepancy about the weather and local news shown on the television station. They could have told about clear weather and there occured a hurricane which led to public complaints. So the authenticity of the news delivered might have been a problem rather than the time dedicated to it.

Secondly, the prompt thinks that the cancelation of the advertising contracts occured due to the short time devoted to weather and local news. But this might not be the case. This cancelation might have occured as a result of lack of money. Probably the local businesses want to invest in something else rather than a television news program at late night. They could have found a better alternative to this mundane program and decided to shift from this path.

Furthermore, it is assumed that the viewers will be more attracted to the program if the time for local news and weather are increased. This might not hold true. The viewers might have different opinions about the program. Some people might like news programs, some might not. For instance, children like to see cartoons on televisions mostly instead of news program. Adults are addicted to football, baseball, basketball and other sports. So they might not like a news program due to their preferences. Therefore, the assumption might not be correct.

To conclude, the prompt is very much flawed and it has to clearly specify the underlying questions mentioned in the previous paragraphs and justify the statement it made by answering the questions.