Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Wilderness is an area of land that has been undisturbed by human interactions. In the quest for civilization and modernization and as the population of human race grew exponentially over the past centuries, there have been significant decline in the wilderness areas. These decline in area has had telling effects on the habitats of some species of animals and plants who call those places home. It is therefore paramout that nations across the world pass laws to preserve the remaining wilderness areas for the following underlisted reasons.

The evil practices of poaching has rendered some species of animals extinct and some almost extinct. These animals are actively hunted for some of their valuable body parts which sells for hundreds and tens of thousands of dollars in a global black market of animal parts. Through an organized syndicate of poachers, various groups synonymous to drug cartels, hunt down elephants, deers, bears for their tusks, horns and furs respectively. Some of these poachers are in it for the financial rewards while others hunt just for the sheer fun of it. It has been reported by the International Organization for wildlife conservation in a 2009 study that the African Elephant species indigent to Kenya will go extinct by the year 2030. It is as a result of this that the Kenya government has in 2019 passed laws prohibiting illegal poaching and a had established forest reserves across several part of the country.

The ability of government to preserve any remaining wilderness areas has several benefits to that particular government. When a country is able to preserve areas of land that has little to no human interaction, it serves as a way of generating revenue for that country. Humans by default love aesthetically pleasing scenes which is greatly found in natural settings. By setting up wilderness parks and naturals forest reserves, government can generate revenues for tourists who want to have a feel of nature. For example, the South African Ministry of Culture and Tourism in a 2018 report said that the government generates between seven to ten million dollars annually for tourist who travel from across the globe to visits various reserves and natural parks.

Another reason why nations should strive to preserve wilderness areas is that is serves as means of national pride and also as a means of national identity. Several countries in South America and Asia have pride themselves from being home to some of the worlds iconic landscapes, plant species and some rare animal breeds. Should they have chosen to destroy these areas, they wont have the bragging rights they enjoy today. For example, Brazil is home to the Amazon forest which houses over a million species of insects and plants. Some iconic birds, mammals and reptiles are found only in this part of the world. This has made Brazil easily attributed to the Amazons and each time someone asks me of Brazil, I first think of the Amazon rain forest. Also another example of countries whose identity can be attributed to the wilderness ares it houses is China. The Himalayas mountain area has for years given China and border India an identity peculiar to that region.

In conclusion, it is extremely important for nations to pass laws to preserve their remaining wilderness areas because it will of numerous advantages to both the countries and to humanity at large. Conserving wilderness areas will provide a national heritage for further generations to inherit.