Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state even if these areas could be developed for economic gain

The speaker asserts that it is essential for nations to pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state regardless of the economic potential of these areas. In my view, however, the speaker overlooks some of the possible consequences of implementing the policy.

Admittedly, the notion of preserving wilderness is reasonable to some extent as the wild areas are precious for the whole society. In the field of science, those invaluable vegetation, animals and the original geological structures are the best resources for scientific research which will probably lead to great improvements in many areas such as biology and geography. From the perspective of environmental protection, the policy can effectively ensure biological diversity and avoid air pollution caused by lack of forest and water. For the local inhabitants, the wild areas may be the ideal places for jogging and wandering, their spiritual support would be destroyed if those areas are not preserved.

However, the prerequisite of implementing the policy is that the society is already well developed. Though preserving any remaining wilderness areas is important, it should be taken into account after economic construction and infrastructure construction have reached a comparatively high standard. It is apparently irrational to protect all the wild areas and refuse to cultivate when the impoverished local people are still in hunger. It is also absurd for the local government to avoid constructing factories in order to keep the pristine land when the locality extremely need industrial development which could prompt huge economic gain. All in all, when the economic development in the locality and the basic living quality of local inhabitants are still unsatisfying, caring too much about protecting wilderness areas seems unreasonable and ridiculous.

Based on the above analysis, I believe that the crux of the matter is not whether to preserve the wild areas, but when to preserve those areas. The answer depends on the concrete analysis of concrete situations. The policy of wild area protection should be enacted exactly at the time when the locality had greatly improved its economic condition and solved most of the inhabitants’ living problems. Thus, it is essential for the nation to form a complete assessment system which decides whether the benefit of preserving any remaining wilderness areas is beyond the economic loss of giving up utilizing those areas so as to determine the best time to begin preserving wilderness areas. In that way, the nation can effectively balance the economy and environmental protection.

In sum, compared with making sweeping generalization about the correctness of passing laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, it is better to think about the local practical situations and then make a rational choice. To ensure both economic development and the preservation of wilderness areas, doing the right thing at the right moment is of vital importance.