Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In asserting that nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, the speaker fails to acknowledge that the implementation of such claims can be problematic under certain conditions. Nevertheless, I agree with the speaker only to the extent that such claims should be restricted to developed society who feels it is needful. My reasons for saying so are elucidated below.

In the above claim, it wasn’t specified weather it is private or government owned wilderness or both should be considered. Therefore, to avoid any ambiguity, I will assume the claim is to be applied to both private and government owned wilderness. Notwithstanding, either way it is considered, lot of controversies will be steered up as pointed below.

Firstly, this claim if adopted will definitely lead to annex of peoples un developed lands. Isn’t that an infringement to their right of ownership? Of course it is. Even if the government decides to take their lands in exchange for a certain amount, while some-especially those that was bequeathed the land- may yield to government demand, some who used their hard earned money to purchase the land obviously won’t concede to that. After all, at the purchase of the land, they had in mind something tangible they intend doing with the land. possibly the land is still in its wilderness state because of lack of fund to transform it.

Secondly, even when only government owned lands are considered, yielding to the above claim might be very disastrous in some society. Some countries have many of their land mass as wilderness area. Opting to leave those land mass as they are, is an alternative way of strangling development to death in that country. A typical case is Africa. In Africa many of the countries there still have more than half of their landmass un developed. The hope that those countries have in rising to the point where they can be recognized as developed countries, lies in development of those un developed wilderness areas. Hence, rather than preserve the existing wilderness area, there is high need for building infrastructures such as road, schools, train station etc that will propel development in those countries.

However, for cases where the country is developed, such as in United states, United Kingdom etc, the claim can easily be implemented. Many of such countries have used up most of their landmass in course of developing their countries. Notwithstanding, the workability of the claim depends on the values and challenges of the society under consideration. For science driven developed society such as America, who love scientific discoveries the claim will be feasible cause they will want to secure those wilderness areas for the purpose of retaining biodiversity. With this in place, scientist can easily have access to plant and animal organism for their research. In a sharp contrast, country such as Dubai although developed, might not comply with the aim. The country’s aim is to be the best tourist country. Hence, if possible, they might want to use up their whole lands. Similarly, if a developed country is challenged with issues such as global warming, the challenge might impel them to preserve the land since the trees in the wilderness- just like every other tree- has the capacity to absorb carbon dioxide- a gas responsible for global warming- What a beautiful of fighting the global warming! On the other hand, a developed society without such problems might be reluctant over preserving of their wilderness areas.

In conclusion, because of the benefits inherent in preserving wilderness, its best it is adopted. however, amidst all its benefits, only the society that values the importance of such benefits will accept it. Nevertheless, the amount of wilderness land area to be used should be considered depending on weather the society is developed or not.