"Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain."

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is inculpable to associate environment deterioration with economic development. After all, the last century has seen considerable tragedies concerning environment, which cultivates the conception that the economic gains are inevitably at the cost of environment. What's more, a lot of policies banning development in pristine area and advocating evacuating from polluted regions have clearly had sound effect. However, it is impractical to hold such passive attitude on environment and withdraw willingly when confronting the nature.

To begin with, the policy in the statement is actually our present method to meliorate the environmental problems. Compared with the cost of recovering a polluted region, apparently, building fences and barriers around it will be more economical. If such policy is implanted and enforced strictly, anyone who wants to invade the protected area will have to weight between the profit and thi risk of violating the law. Meanwhile, for government and companies, they can turn to invest the downtown or other developed regions in stead of the wilderness, which would help improve the infrastructure and facilities in those areas. In this way, the wilderness will be preserved.

But blindly withdrawing from the nature, as advocated in the statement, to some extent, will jeopardize not only our economy but also our civilization. First and foremost, the limited land use will circumscribe our material development. In retrospect, our ancestors pushed the envelope of their territory and expanded the population, bade on which they cultivated a splendid culture. But had the policy promulgated, we would have to control not only the industry size but also our population. What's more, the policy constitutes a passive attitude toward humanity and the nature. It presumes that our technology and laws will not prevent us from excessive exploitation. Ant it underestimates the self-recovering ability of the nature. Therefor, the policy would actually hinder our progress.

Based on the discussion above, neither a conventional or a radical attitude is plausible. It is necessary to evaluate the feasibility concerning exploitation,state-of-art technology and the current formulations before a decision is drawn. For instance, if the current technology is not reliable to guarantee the sustainable development of the wilderness, the the government should delay the exploitation. In addition, the government is supposed to clarify the exact factors hindering the exploitation. If those factors could be overcome by the development of technology and formulations, then the government should positively take the responsibility to address those problems in the way. However, if the wilderness is in fact inaccessible for reasons like preservations of endangered species, then the program should be abandoned.

To sum up, I would like to make it clear that our economy is not necessarily opposed to the nature. We should come up with methods to solve the contradiction between them rather than escaping the reality, passively exhibiting our inability in front of the nature. Moreover, sustainable development should be considered when policy is concerned with environment as aforementioned.