The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the vice president concludes that Appin Roadways is superior than Good Intentions Roadways based on the comparison between their previous programs as well as consideration of the equipment update and newly hired control manager of Appin Roadways. Thus he suggests the construction program of access road for new shopping malls should be assigned to Appin Roadways instead of Good Intentions Roadways in order to attain longer duration. Although the vice president takes the company's historical records as reference, there are still some questions needing resolving before Appin Roadways is hired. These questions not noticed or answered would inevitably undermine the credibility of the suggestion.

First and foremost, the superiority of the two companies is not clearly enough before the vice presidents provide more details about their previous programs. For example, the vice president should consider whether the guaranteed period of each road has been achieved. Because if the answer is no and each company has attained the designed target period respectively, then then Appin Roadways is no better than Good Intentions Roadways. However, even the answer is yes, there is still another question. Apparently, Road 101 is different from Road 40, therefore a comparison between constructions on these two road without involving the characteristics like car weight and currency is untenable, because car weight and currency can significantly influence the condition of the road, which means the vice president should answer whether these conditions mentioned are identical or not. If the answer is no, then the comparison is not convincing to uphold the conclusion.

In addition, the author also mentions that Appin Roadways recently purchased state-of-art paving machinery and hired a new quality control manager. However, we have no idea of if the same or similar update has been accomplished by Good Intentions Roadways or other potential construction companies. If the adjustment of Appin Roadways is just a routine update of the whole industry, then the new machinery and manager could not help justify the superiority of Appin Roadways over any other construction companies. Even if the adjustment is solely an achievement of Appin Roadways, the author need answer the adjustment guarantees better road duration, for which the vice president need provide information about Appin Roadways's programs after the adjustment. If the adjustment couldn't guarantee longer duration like a period more than four years, the vice president is culpable for overstating the performance the company. But is the answer is yes, the suggestion can sustain certain suspect.

Finally, the new program is to construct access roads for shopping malls. Apparently, the vice president should make it clear whether the new program is suitable for Appin Roadways, even though we have acceded the ability of Appin Roadways. If not, then the vice president should glean for other options. However, if the answer is yes, the suggestion is not cogent for not including the budget and other potential companies. If there are other companies offering more economical plans, then the suggestion is flawed for omitting potential alternatives.

All in all, the vice president should validate the comparison between the two companies and offer more information about other companies. A convincing and objective comparison would build up the credibility basis of the forthcoming suggestion. Moreover, more comprehensive and detailed information of other potential competitors could help persuade more people in to the president's suggestion. Therefore, the vice president need to consider and answer the questions mentioned above so as to shore up the suggestion.