work together, creativity, work alone

When it comes to tasks that require creativity, some people prefer to think independently so that they can avoid others' interference, while some prefer to boost their efficiency by collaborating with others. And from my experience, I would like to work with others to solve the problems that demands creative methods.

First and foremost, working together can eliminate some unnecessary but critical mistakes. When many people get involved into one task, the problems tend to be considered for more than on time, thus making crosscheck possible. There was an well-known structure engineer who designed the structure of a library. The structure of building was really advanced, employing prestressed concrete and large span steel structures to magnify the interior space. However, without working together with the architect, the engineer forgot the loading of the books, the basic elements in the library. If the engineer could work together with the architects or other specialists, this fault could be totally avoided.

Moreover, cooperation can inspire creativity, especially when various specialists participate in a task. Because when people with different background and knowledge work together, they will offer suggestions in terms of multiple dimensions. In addition, since people have distinct way of thinking, updating thinking methods for individuals can be achieved. For example, recently, the machine learning is quite popular. However, to apply this technique to practical use, specialist in computer science need to cooperate with others from specific profession,like speech recognition. Without the assistance from linguistic experts, the algorithms will function randomly, wasting time and funding.

Last but not the least, it's true that there are many prominent scientists that proposed, but the current system of science has been virtually completed, making innovation more difficulty. Therefore, we urgently need joint efforts to make breakthrough because individuals' ability is limited. Not only do we need the broad horizons offered by various specialists mentioned previously, but we also need more talents equipped with proficiency in one particular field. Some electronic devices, such as iPhone, can illustrate the importance of cooperation between many experts. The amount of work of one single part could be too heavy a burden for on engineer, hindering the creativity. But with the joint efforts from many experts, the work can be shared and creativity can be achieved.

In conclusion, working together can help us avoid mistakes, consider many perspectives and boost the efficiency of innovation.