Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

The responsibility of educational institutions, as far as I am concerned, is to provide a board stage where students could broaden their horizons and guide students into a promising career they really have affection for. Helping students avoid inaccessible study is therefore necessary, just as the statement claims. Because successful education is a process comprised with positive and negative incentives, however those inaccessible studies only serve to frustrate and discourage students. In the end students will inevitably lose heart and disgust the field in turn.

Of course there are people objecting to the statement. They deem that the scientific study is process of self-denial and people should not abandon easily. It is true that real science entails hardwork and hardship. Edison, for instance, tried more than thousands of times when inventing enduring electrical bulbs. And Bell also took great efforts to invent telephones. Therefore, persistence plays an important role in scientific study, which means the self-denial and hardship during the process should be treated as momentum, pushing the study forward. Based on these reasons, these people would definitely persuade students to stick to difficult fields of study.

Moreover, people holding views mentioned above often incite a dictum by Edison that genius is ninety-nine percent of perspiration and one percent of inspiration. However, those people holding the belief success of scientific study is a natural result of abundant perspiration may have apparently neglect the importance of inspiration. Inspiration, in my view, is actually the true momentum that turn a tyro into an expert, or rather, a genius. Those who suggest that students hold on to the tough tasks don't realize the importance of inspiration and interest. Inspiration and interest stem from the positive incentives induced by the scientific study. However, if students are always discouraged by the projects they choose, the positive incentive come from nowhere and the initial enthusiasm fade away within a series of debacles.

In addition, I would like to suggest the educational institutes consider students inclination and their performance on the study meanwhile to draw out the conclusion whether they should dissuade the students. And the institutes are supposed to set a apposite period to observe the students rather than decide hastily. The students who are impregnable facing obstacles and enjoying dealing with problems should be given more time and space. However, students who tend to be frustrated facing difficulty need timely guide and moderation on their orientation.

To sum up, not everyone is qualified to shoulder difficult tasks. The institutes need formulate a comprehensive and specialized plan for their students. Neither can they regard their students as those eminent scientists with great contribution, nor can they set a too low standard for students as to compromise their ability to acquire knowledge.