work together, creativity, work alone

When it comes to tasks that require creativity, some people prefer to think independently so that they can avoid others' interference, while some prefer to boost their efficiency by collaborating with others. And from my experience, I would like to work with others to solve the problems that demands creative methods.

First and foremost, working together can eliminate some unnecessary but critical mistakes. When many people get involved into one task, the problems tend to be considered for more than on time, thus making crosscheck possible. There was an well-known structure engineer who designed the structure of a library. The structure of building was really advanced, employing prestressed concrete and large span steel structures to magnify the interior space. However, without working together with the architect, the engineer forgot the loading of the books, the basic elements in the library. If the engineer could work together with the architects or other specialists, this fault could be totally avoided.

Moreover, cooperation can inspire creativity, especially when various specialists participate in a task. Because when people with different background and knowledge work together, they will offer suggestions in terms of multiple dimensions. In addition, since people have distinct way of thinking, updating thinking methods for individuals can be achieved. For example, recently, the machine learning is quite popular. However, to apply this technique to practical use, specialist in computer science need to cooperate with others from specific profession,like speech recognition. Without the assistance from linguistic experts, the algorithms will function randomly, wasting time and funding.