In order for any work of art, whether film, literature, sculpture, or a song to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art is a very powerful means of expression of thought; every artist strives to communicate his though through arts. What if people have difficulty discerning the message that a piece of arts meant to express? I think art should be lucid enough to be understood by most of the people to have merit. Because, arts is a mirror of the society and it should clearly reflects true characteristics of a society. On the other hand, in some circumstances, some arts may not be readily understandable because of its sophisticated nature.

In the first place, we must agree that value of arts should be determined by the evaluation of the public at large. Since, if a reader or an observer of arts is unable to understand the theme of the arts, there is no point on reading or observing a particular art. So, the art lost its scope and becomes limited to esoteric few. By way of example, Chetan Bhagat—an Indian novelist—is famous for his lucidity. His Novels are in the list of world’s best-selling books. However, there are other plenty of writers and novelist in India who are under the shadow of Mr. Bhagat even though they are good in themselves. The problem is they have failed to understand public choices. Most of the people are not capable of understanding high level language and sentence structure; so, an artist should make sure that people can understand his creation rather than making more complex in the name of sophisticated writing.

In the second place, if the creation of the artist is understandable to most of the people, it will not take long time for the artist to be well-known and to promote his arts. By way of example, a Syrian artist Abdalla AI Amari is gaining popularity in the world because of his unique and lucid way of expressing arts. Mr. Amari painted the world leaders, such as: Donald Trump, Vladimir Putin, Emanuel Macron and so forth, as refugees in the caravan fleeing Syria due to conflict. His message was clear that he wanted to pressurize world leader in solving such tragedy in Syria. Millions of people on social media shared his painting supporting Mr. Amari’s cause.

Admittedly, it is not to say that art completely lost it value if it not understandable to most of the people. For example, the philosophical books, such as: Apology, Republic by Plato, are not readily understandable by a layman; however, importance of these books for our civilization is undeniable. Similarly, ‘The communist manifesto’ written by Karl Max has become one of the greatest gifts of human brain and its relevance in the present world, even after hundreds of years, is same. But no one would disagree that Communist manifesto is easily palpable for common people. So, in some scenario, valuable piece of art may not be easily discernible; however, they do not lose their merit.

Finally, even though some arts are of great merit without being straightforward to most of the people; however, in most of the cases arts should be understandable to most of the people in order to have merit.