Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless, they in fact, prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

With the advancement of science and technology; people nowadays have been able to enjoy luxury and convenience like never before. It is, indeed, a considerable issue that whether such conveniences are entirely harmless? In my point of view, such conveniences are having harmful impact on our life rather than doing well; because people are increasingly being dependent over them. However, not discussing their benign impact on our life would be unfair.

In the first place, people nowadays are losing their own ability and skills because of the dependency on modern convenient technology. As an example, with the advent of calculator, people do not bother to do even simple mathematical calculation; situation is such a worse that if we do not allow our student to use calculator in a mathematics exam, hardly any student would get the answer correct. Even though it looks a simple issue outwardly, but in fact, it is undermining our student’s mental ability.

In the second place, if we make a close look at our other areas of our everyday life, it will not be difficult to recon that modern facilities are having detrimental effect in our life. For example, until few years back, my country was self dependence in clothing; hand-weaved clothes were ubiquitous. But today’s scenario is totally different; machine-made Chinese clothes have taken control over the market. It is hard to find old domestic genuine clothes. Old manufacturing industries are out of business; people are not only losing their job, but also losing dexterity of their hand.

Furthermore, because of the access to the information and technology, people’s dependence for the information over technology is in rise. For example, our students are resorting to internet to do their home task. They do not want to make effort on their own for even for the simple problem and which in turn making them more dependent toward internet. And they, on the other hand, are losing their own ability to solve the problems.

Admittedly, the availability of modern conveniences has made people’s life easier than before. Without any physical effort people can travel thousands of miles of distance; they can reach their work place faster than before, which has saved more times for them and they are able to utilize such time to develop their personality; to develop various skills which would enable them for the job in the market. As a result they might be developing themselves into independent individual. However, such conveniences are rendering them to use less physical effort and are actually making them lazy and consequently making them vulnerable to different kinds of disease.

In conclusion, even though modern luxury and conveniences appear to have benign effect in our life, they are actually making us more dependent and hence preventing us from being more strong and independent individual.