Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Society is the results of thousands of years of human civilization; it has been a force that encourages people to work together in order to find a common goal: an ideal situation in which everyone appreciates the co-existence. Society chooses those as their hero or role model who plays important role in order for the betterment of the society. I generally agree with the claim that we can understand much more about a society by examining the characteristics of those who society consider as its hero. However, in some circumstance, it would be unwise to reach a conclusion that the best way to understand a society is to understand its role model.

In the first place, society considers those as their hero who fight for the people without self-interest. For example, Nelson Mandela is considered as a role model leader not only of South Africa, but also of the world. He fought for the democracy in South Africa; fought for the people of South Africa. The principle on which Mr. Mandela based his life’s philosophy turned out to be the will of millions of South African. So, by examining Mandela’s characteristics, we can say that whole African society was against the racial segregation and social unjust. We can also speculate the political awareness of South African society at Mandela’s time.

In the second place, people are considered to be a hero when majority of the people in the society approve of their work and admire them for their contribution to the society. As a result, those heroes represent the view of the majority of the people on certain issue. So, it is worthwhile to examine the tendency of those role model to understand the views of the society. For example, Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing, has inspired million of people around the world. Her altruistic act toward the benefit of the society earned her respect and praise of the people from all over the world. So, by analyzing her character, it can be inferred that the society at her time had begun to recognize the importance of selfless act and had developed a high sense of altruistic approach.

Finally, although a role model of a society represents the social awareness and people’s view on the current situations, there might be other characters of the society that we cannot always find in its heroes. The heroes of the society represent the views of a society only on the issue of communal interest. In order to understand true characters of a society one should go to the society and examine.

In conclusion, even though examining the attributes of a society’s role model always does not reveal true nature of the society, but in most of the cases, they can reflect the characters of the society.