Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws are set of principles designed to encourage a sense of propriety and decency in people’s behaviors. We cannot imagine a egalitarian society without law and order. Whether laws should be flexible enough to accommodate various circumstances? The answer is yes! I completely agree with the claim that it is necessary to change laws according to need of times and various situations. If laws are not flexible, their efficacy start declining and eventually law itself becomes a problem rather than a means of solving problems.

In the first place, with the march of time, people’s views on life and society are changing. People have begun to realize that some old beliefs protected by laws are not compatible with today’s school of thought. And hence demand for the adjustment of old laws to accommodate current problem is on the rise. For example, in many countries same-sex marriage is now legal whereas it was illegal until few years back. The surging sense of human equality and freedom is rendering our old laws obsolete. So, it has been essential to amend our laws according to the need of time.

In the second place, our thoughts on the lives are mostly influenced by our religion. And in many countries laws are compatible to the religious belief. However, in the modern age, every people want freedom. They have the liberty to follow their own path. Imposing religious constraints on them is against their right of freedom. So, laws based on religion need changing. As an example, The Islamist country Saudi Arabia has taken initiative towards lifting ban on women that are imposed by the religion. Women in Saudi Arabia are now allowed to have driving license and they are allowed to go to the cinema. They must have gained a sense of freedom after changes in laws.

Finally, some may argue that flexible may give way to those who want to exploit the loop holes of laws. For example, just recently, The United States and Canada passed a bill which allows the use and trading of marijuana for recreational purpose; however, odds are enough that drugs lords now can exploit these laws to their benefit. But, I think, government can handle such situations by the legislation of monitoring laws.

Finally, even though there may be the circumstances in which adjustment of the laws to new scenario can bring some challenge, such challenges are solvable. So, in order to respect the freedom of people, laws should be flexible enough.