The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument engages in analyzing superiority of two real estate firm—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty. The author presents some factual data—number of agents, average home sales price and revenue of two firms—to support his conclusion. The author then concluded that if anyone wants to sell home quickly and at a reasonable price, he/she should use Adams Realty. However, looking closely at the evidences and the assumptions the author made, it would be ill-conceived to reach the conclusion as stated in the argument.

To begin with, the author relies his assumption on the fact that Adams Realty has more agents and accordingly is more efficient than Fitch Realty. However, it is possible that agents of Fitch Realty are more capable and prudent than the agents of Adams. So, if it were the case, even if they work part-time for Fitch they can do their job better than agents of Adams. Also, it is possible that since the agents of Fitch are working part-time, they might have been working for the another company which might have allowed them to understand real estate market more deeply making them more competent in their field.

In the second place, another serious flawed assumption the author made in this argument is that more revenue and higher average home sales price signifies the superiority of Adams Realty. The author does not provide enough information to compare revenues of both firms. Amount of transaction is important to analyze revenues of both firms; if Adams transactions last year were higher as compared to Fitch then it is normal that their revenue is also higher than that of Fitch. So, this information does not necessarily signify that the Adams Realty did better than Fitch. Similarly, the author assumes that higher average sales price of Adams firm ensure higher price for every homes. It is likely that a person who listed his home to Fitch get higher price than one who listed to Adams; because lower average does not necessarily mean every item has low value.

Finally, in the last part of the argument, the author provides his experience that took place ten years ago. The author is assuming that the Fitch firm is in the same state as ten years ago. The Fitch firm might have made a lot of changes in its management, policies and its marketing strategies. It might be the case that they have implemented some attractive schemes for their customers in order to challenge its rival firm Adams. So, there is still a probability that a person who listed his home with Fitch gets even more reasonable price than those who listed with Adams. Moreover, the author does not provide information about the outer economic environment at the time he sold his home. Perhaps, the economy was in recession at that time or the government tightened it rules and regulations for the real estate company and which might have resulted in delay. Thus, without answering these questions, it would be unwise to reach the conclusion as stated in the argument.