To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Is it the city that reflects most important characteristics of a society? I personally agree with the author. With the advancement of time, people have been residing in cities in an unprecedented way and, as a result, people have been leaving their relics for a long time and thereby making cities worth attentions from outsides.

First, cities are the places where we find most diverse population of a country. As a result, we find a plenitude of information about the culture and social structure of a country which enables us to dive into true nature of a society of the country. By way of example, Kathmandu is a capital city of Nepal and it boasts several world heritage sites: Pashupatinath ,a Hindu templ; Patan Durbar , an ancient palace; Swyhambhu Nath, a holy monastery of Buddhist and many other historical as well cultural places which were built by different Kings of Nepal in their ruling times. Now, anyone who wants to know about Neplease society can learn more from visiting cities than from any other rural areas of Nepal as there are not so many such historical places built in rural areas. Thus, one can develop a holistic approach regarding Neplease society by studying cities of Nepal.

Secondly, In general, cities have become the sign of development of a country. As people start living in more convenient places like cities, they have been able to preserve their culture and arts by setting museums and institutions where one can find plenty of information about ancient culture and arts of a society. For example, central library in Kathmandu Nepal has been a large source of books about Neplease literature and tradition. It also has collected and categorized books and literature according to different languages spoken in Nepal. On the contrary, such library is not viable in areas outside of the cities because of the lack of infrastructure and manpower necessary to run such library. So, by examining such places one can learn that Nepali is a most spoken language of Nepal; besides, one can learn about other most spoken languages of Nepal as well as cultural diversity of Nepali society.

Finally, the condition of the cities of a country can tell us a lot about the present and the future conditions of a country; in fact, organized, clean and developed cities indicate the development of a country and hence of a society in general. For example, the skyscrapers and busy roads in various cities in United States tell us about the economic prosperity of America. Admittedly, rural areas also can reflect the true nature of a society. In most of the cases, rural areas are museums in themselves; one can go and enjoy and understand the society actually by being a part of it. Nevertheless, cities provide with efficient way and resources required to learn about characteristics of a society.

In conclusion, one should study cities in order to understand important characteristics of a society since a lot of historical and cultural heritages are preserved in cities rather than outside of the cities.