People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

People’s behaviors are the reactions to those things which are ahead of them. I generally agree with the claim that people’s behaviors are largely determined by external forces rather than their own making. We live in the age of information and technology, which made it possible for everyone to be in touch with new information from around the globe and there is high chance of people being influenced from external forces. However, the author’s claims raises question about non-conformism. There may be some cases in which people tend to follow in their own footsteps rather than others.

First, we have abundant of evidences which show people’s way of everyday life is being hugely influenced by external forces. For example, I have seen young generation in my country wearing idiosyncratic clothes that looks bizarre in the eyes of ordinary people in my country. They have started wearing western hip-hop fashion; eating foreign foods such as Pizza, burger, in restaurant. So, I think this is not the way of life that they had in the past, their food habits and way of dressing is under the influence of popular trend in the market.

Secondly, every people should follow the established tradition in the society for the co-existence. It is important for everyone to be compatible with the current trend of society. For example, in the modern days of information and technology, everyone should get comfortable with the basic technology that they encounter everyday with. As a result, people should strive to learn that technology. Computer education has become essential for everyone in today’s world and accordingly, even if someone is not willing to learn, he/she is forced to get accustom with computer technology. Consequently, his everyday life is different from what it would have been if he chose to live in his own way.

Admittedly, the author’s claim seems to undermine the notion of non-conformism. In every society, there are people who want to live their life differently than what people at large do. For example, a ethnic group called ‘Raute’ in Nepal are still living in Jungle. External social dynamics has not affected them yet. They enjoy their own way of life in Jungle. They do not seek for the modern convenient lifestyle. However, people’s behaviors are largely determined by the dynamics of the society in general.

In conclusion, even if some people choose to live their own way of life and tend to get less affected by external forces, but most of the people’s behaviors are largely affected by external forces.