Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In today’s competitive world, roles of educational institutions on urging students to follow their path towards where they can get most successful career has been of immense importance. I generally agree with the writer that students should be guided to follow the field of study at which they are likely to succeed in; however, the author of the given statement fails to recognize the ramification of dissuading someone to go into a different field from one at which he/she seems unlikely to succeed.

Firstly, motivating someone to pursue their study in the field they are likely to succeed can have benign effect into a student’s life. Every students will give more attention to the subjects that they like the most as a result they ended up being experts of their field and which will help them securing good jobs in the future. For example, if someone is good at science but the course design consists a lot of literature then we have to think of replacing literature course by another science related course so that student can learn more about the subjects of his interest adding to his understanding of the subject matters.

Secondly, in the early days, students are unable to recognize their forte, if we do not recognize the students’ interest and we allow them to go on the field that they are unlikely to succeed, eventually they will be incapable of producing desire effect in the field of study that they are pursuing, as a result, theirs years of investment waste in vain. So, it is incumbent upon Educational institutions to guide student according to their wish.

Moreover, showing students their correct path in early days can help students not only uplift their career, but also augment their confidence. if students get opportunity to delve into the field that interest them the most, they can make tremendous contribution to the field they are pursuing which lead them to series of success uplifting their self-esteem and confidence. By way of example, the greatest football star Lionel Messi would not have been playing football if he was not guided properly in his early age. Probably, he might be working as a moderate army officer or a high school teacher by restraining his interest.

Admittedly, one may argue that some people are undecided about their ability until late, in such scenario it would be ill-advised to persuade student into taking their course in the field beyond their incapability, as an example, even Einstein was slow in mathematics and physics in his school days but later he became the greatest scientist. If someone dissuaded him into changing his field of study, we are very unlikely to have an outstanding scientist. Even though the claimed I have just made deserves some credits, in broad respect such scenarios are exceptional and not worthy of attention.

In conclusion, except few exception, it would be wise to dissuade students not to pursue field of study in which they are unlikely to perform well.