A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Whether or not a nation requires same curriculum for all its students until they enter college is indeed a debatable issue. In my point of view, all students need to study same curriculum until they reach certain level. However, it may have negative impact on some students if we superimposes same curriculum to all students. Education is the key for the development of a nation. Education system of a country shapes the future of its citizens. So, government authorities should give immense importance on building national curriculum. A unified curriculum is required until certain level so that it would be easier for the government to meet educational goals. Similarly, it would be from students’ point of views.

First, every students need to have basic education that would help them develop a sense of conscience. It is mandatory that all students should have knowledge about standard social norms and etiquette. In order to instill such values, government should carry out a unified national curriculum. For example, every student will pursue different careers in future; however, they all will live in the same community and should feel compatible to each other. It is incumbent upon government to instill a sense of patriotism to every citizen. To this end, a nation need unified curriculum.

Secondly, for the development of a nation, government should spend its budget as economically as possible. Without any doubt, government should divide a large proportion of its budget in education. A unified national curriculum could save the government millions of dollars. To carry out different curriculum for the same contingent of the students, government need to established more infrastructure and should hire more teachers which adds to the government expenditure. For example, in my country Nepal, Nepal has implemented a unified national curriculum until high school level, it has initiated a program nationwide to increase enrolment of students and all educational indicators are showing progress in education.

Moreover, students are unable to decide which course to pursue until they enter the college. So, government should design curriculum that makes students capable of pursuing college education. Before going to college level education, student will have ample time to consider their future ways. For example, before the college level education, students reach their maturity so they are now able to make choices according to their interest and will do well in future.

Admittedly, some may argue that same curriculum for the students with different abilities will not yield good output. However, pushing students into different fields of study by creating different curriculum before they are mature enough to pursue particular field would not produce a good result.

In conclusion, a unified national curriculum will not only help government to meet its educational goals, but also helps students by preparing them for college education.