Government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Government should provide cities with financial aids in order for them to thrive. The author is right in his judgment but the assumptions upon which he based his claims are fallacious. So, I cannot agree with the author on this issue. In my opinion, it is the rural area that preserves culture and tradition rather than major cities of a country.

First, there is no doubt that human civilization was not originated in cities. It is thousands of years later that people started living in cities. They realize the important of living in systematic ways. Taking this point in mind, relics of our old culture and civilization are in rural areas rather than cities. For example, a tribe in Nepal called ‘Sherpa’ is well known in the world for their abilities to endure high altitude climates. They have been working as tourist guide for a long time in upper Himalayan mountain range—particularly for tourists who come in Nepal for climbing mountains. It is because of the idiosyncratic culture and tradition that most of the tourists prefer to visit upper mountain range. Thus, government should appropriate some aids in order to preserve the tradition and culture of Sherpa, which would generate more income for the government in the future.

Secondly, it is bitter truth that cities are under the great influence of foreign culture. In the name of modernization, people in the cities are forsaking their own culture. By way of example, I can barely see a typical Nepali girl in her traditional attire in the street of Kathmandu (the capitol city of Nepal). Instead girls are seen wearing foreign dresses such as skirts and so forth. Thus, the author’s assumption seems fallacious.

Admittedly, some may argue that people in cities tend to have high awareness because of the high access to education and are likely to make effort to conserve their culture and tradition; however, whenever people from different cultural background start living together, there is high chance of being influenced from one another’s culture and which could have negative impact on the originality of a particular culture in the long run.

In a nutshell, to conserve the culture and tradition in their original form, government must support rural sectors with financial aid rather than cities.