Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Arts and cultures reflect the sophistication of human race. It is arts and cultures what sets us apart from any other races. Whether the arts need funding from government in order to flourish is a contentious issue. I strongly believe that government funding is mandatory for arts. In the context of technologically dominant world, arts and culture would have tough time to flourish without government’s support.

In the first place, the value of arts is all about appreciating it, if arts cannot get platform to be exposed, its values diminish. Arts can tell a lot of thing about a country, so it is incumbent upon government to save the arts. As an example, The mount rushmore National memorial in the United States is a living example that government support for the arts is crucial. The mount rushmore, which depicts four presidents of the United States: Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt, Thomas Jefferson and Gorge Washington, has become an iconic place in the United States. It attracts millions of tourists every year. It has been a symbol of national unity for Americans. Even though the monument was built in the time of economic depression, government managed funding to build it. Now, people around the world have opportunity to appreciate such a magnificent masterpiece.

In the second place, with the growing dominance of modern technology, our arts and cultures are on the verge of extinction. Application of modern technology to replicate arts has become a matter of concern. By way of example, Thanka Chitra—a traditional arts of Nepal—has suffered a lot from the modern technology to replicate arts. Thanka Chitras are paintings painted on cloths, a community in Nepal embraces Thanka Chitra as their occupation, but when the Chinese machine-made replica of Thanka Chitra made their way in Nepali market, most of the hand-crafted original Thanka Chitra remained unsold, which in turn putting the original creators out of their occupation. Thus, the government should fund the arts so that it can preserve arts from being extinct.

Admittedly, some may argue that government funding of the arts can mar the integrity of the arts. Because, artist will not strive to produce masterpieces if he/she is secure for their income even if their arts did not go in the market. Moreover, government’s involvement in arts risks politicization of arts such as governments authorities tend to be biased towards the particular community, which may ignite chaos among the artists and eventually threaten the arts; However, it is all upon the government. The government should identify the areas of arts that are in desperate need of the government support and should help them to uplift them.

Finally, although government funding may risk the integrity of the arts, the government itself has power to control such risk. Thus, the government funding of arts is essential in order for the arts to flourish and be available for all.