"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument declares that the only cause for the diminishing business in central plaza is skateboarding and therefore suggests that skateboarding should be prohibited in the central plaza in order to bring back the business in its previous states. However, the argument fails to make connection between increased skateboarding activities and decreased in business activities. This shows that the argument is fundamentally flawed. Similarly, the author of the argument based his conclusion in several questionable assumptions which are likely to undermine the conclusion rather than to support it.

In the first place, the author assume that the sole reason for the low business activities is increased skateboarding, but the author does not provide the evidences to support why the skateboarding is responsible for the decreased business activities? The author completely neglected others potential causes for decline in business; may be the whole economy is going to the phase of economic recession. It is also possible that government might have increased taxes to the particular kind of business that people of central plaza were engaged to. So, without having knowledge of such possible cause, it is impossible to reach the conclusion as stated in the argument.

In the second place, another seriously flawed assumption in the argument is that the skateboarders were responsible for the litter and vandalism in central plaza. How can the author of this argument be sure that skateboarders were involved in such activities? A group of vandals from nearby place might have involved in such activities. Further, the author does not give evidences that support the increased amount of litter is due to skateboarder. It may be true that skateboarder might have dumped their remaining food and bottles of the beverage after use, but that does not necessarily requires banning them from skateboarding. Such problems are minor and easily manageable.

Finally, the authors assume that the business will come back in its previous state if skateboarders are banned for skateboarding in the plaza. But, it may be the case that a large proportion of the customer in the central plaza includes skateboarder. If it were true, then the business would not return to its earlier state; rather, it would go down. Thus, in summary, without further investigation on the possible alternative cause for the decline in business, it would be unwise to recommend prohibiting skateboarders in the central plaza.