Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s conclusion that Woven baskets initially attributed to Palean people were not uniquely Palean seems convincing at the first glance. However, the argument fails to address the misgivings arises from the deep analysis of the evidences and the consequent conclusion and hence not a truly compelling argument.

Firstly, the author presents the evidence that the Brim river in between two ancient villages Lithos and Palean was broad and deep that it was impossible to cross without boat and such boat were not found near the Palean village. Even though it seems to serve the conclusion to be cogent, the assumption that author made upon this is fallacious. The author assumes that the only way to get through to the village Lithos is to cross the Brim river; however there may be a roundabout way to the village Lithos that could have allowed people to trade between two villages and such baskets might have been reached Lithos. So, further evidence is essential to increase the credibility of the argument.

Secondly, the author of the article believes that no evidences of palean boat guaranteed that there were no Palean boats in existence; however, through the passage of time such Palean boats might have been rotten or the flood in the Brim river might have washed them away. So, the author fails to provide necessary explanation to believe his conclusion.

Finally, the author himself states that woven baskets were first found in vicinity of Palean village and again he states that recently archaeologist found such basket in Lithos. Here, the author assumes that there were no activities between these two time periods. It is possible that a bridge might have been built in the Brim river, allowing villagers to engage in several activities of trade and cultural exchange. And as a result, such baskets might have made their way to the Lithos village.

In summation, as explained above, the assumptions in which the authors based his conclusions are wrong. Without further explanation and evidences, the argument cannot be truly convincing.