Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

It is the politics what decides the future of a country; and it is the leader that and his honesty upon which the politics of a country is based. I generally agree with the claim that consistent adherence to a particular guiding principal is most important for a leader. Nevertheless, it may be wise for a leader to compromise and address the public opinion if the cause is in favor of the most of the people in the country.

In the first place, honesty is a very important characteristic of a leader and people judge leader’s honesty by their loyalty and commitments to the principle that they say they are following. If a leader lost public faith on him, he/she is very likely to be ineffective in the arena of politics. By way of example, Mahatma Gandhi of India started a non-violent passive resistance movement against the British in 1942. He adhered to his principle honestly and as result, people appeared to unite in the movement and eventually he became successful to free his country from the British rule. Gandhi received supports from the people because of his determination and consistent adherence to his nonviolent principle. And today Gandhi is one of the most revered leaders in the world.

Moreover, another world’s most revered leader Nelson Mandela spent twenty seven years in prison fighting for the people who were suppressed by the regime. Even if in prison, he never yielded to the regime; instead, he relentlessly kept advocating the principle of equality among all. Consequently, Mr. Mandela earned him unprecedented supports from the people and led the anti-apartheid movement which ended in a good note securing democracy in South Africa.

Admittedly, sometimes there may be the circumstances in which a leader might have to yield to the public opinion if the public opinion is intense and any step against the opinion seems to cause public outrage. As an example, people in Nepal called for the end of monarchy in 2015 where as constitutional monarchy was accepted by all political parties. In the meantime, leader of the parties realize the appropriateness of public demand and they declared that they no longer support the monarchy. Following the nineteen days struggle the monarchy relented and Nepal was declared as secular republic country.

In conclusion, even though leader sometimes might have to yield to public opinion, but in most of the situation, strict adherence to the principals makes a leader more effective than those who yield to the public opinion.