Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument stresses on terminating a procedure—student evaluation of professor—in Omega University. The author of the argument believe that professor are assigning high grades to such extent that potential employers are considering those grades as being inflated and consequently, the Omega University graduates have not been as successful as the graduates of Alpha University at getting job. Hence, the author concludes that the termination of the evaluation procedure will help the Omega University graduate to secure better job. However, the argument consist many fallacies that prevent it from being a truly compelling argument.

In the first place, the author of the argument wrong-headedly assumes that the rise in the students’ grade is due to the evaluation procedure. The author does not provide further information to support his assumption. It is possible that because of the evaluation procedure, professor might have implemented effective teaching techniques to improve their performance and which might have resulted in increased grades. If it were true, the author’s conclusion would suffer the most.

In the second place, no information is given about the nearby Alpha University. Yet, the author is comparing the graduate students of Omega University with the graduates of Alpha. It may be true that Alpha University is one of the top ranked Universities in the town and more reputed than Omega University. In such a scenario, it is normal that Alpha graduates may be in demand more than Omega graduates.

In the final words, the author believes that terminating the evaluation procedure would enable student to secure better job. Such a inference is ridiculous, to produce more competent students, every university should focus on the efficacy of the teachers. If there is no evaluation of teacher, there is no guarantee that student get quality education. It is evident that such a termination would make Omega University even worse. Thus, the argument is premised on dubious assumption that resulted in a poor conclusion which is less likely to be true without providing enough evidences.