Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Without having any doubt, scientific research and development are the reasons behind the incredible achievement of human race. But imposing some restrictions on scientific research begs a question. I strongly agree with the claim that it is incumbent upon government to place certain restriction on scientific research. For, unchecked development in science and technology can bring misfortune on human race.

In the first place, development in the field of science and technology has changed the world into a village. People are exploiting modern technology for the benefit of human race; people are getting new lives due to the achievement in medical field. Aviation industries are revolutionizing the transportations. However, development in science in technology is putting the human race at risk in some sense. For example, the competition among the countries to develop nuclear weapon is risking the very human existence. So, government should impose some restriction on development of nuclear weapon. When looking at the present conflict in the world, we can easily understand that issues regarding nuclear development are causing tension among the countries like The United States, Iran and North Korea.

In the second place, it is high time that the government made regulatory provision on the development of science and technology. Before thinking about the development of certain technology, it is essential to access the ramification of such development. By way of example, research on the field of gene editing and cloning has become a controversial issue in the modern ages. Do we really want our duplicate existence in the world? Do we want genetically modified food? Unless accessing potential future complexity due to gene edition and cloning, the government should not allow the development of such technology.

Finally, some may argue that development of nuclear weapon is mandatory for the defense of the sovereignty of the country; however, the possible destruction caused by nuclear weapon does not guarantee the existence of the sovereign country either. So, in order to make the world more safer place to live, restriction upon the development of such dangerous weapon is mandatory.

In conclusion, considering the ramification of the development of certain technology, government should place few restriction on scientific research and development.