In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

In retrospect, we have realized that pace of human development would not have been so rapid if there were not hard work of scientists, politicians, artists and so forth. At every moment, people are contributing for the welfare of human race and hence for themselves. Now, here comes the question: does the contribution of neophyte outweigh the contribution of the expert to respective field? I agree with the author. History is replete with the example that novice has contributed far more than the expert did.

First, it is not always the expertise and experiences that lead to important discovery; rather, it is new and creative idea that triggers revolution in particular field. For example, A Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrick Able was the first mathematician to demonstrate that general quintic equation under radical is unsolvable. Which was the problem that has been baffling mathematician for years; even though Able was novice Mathematician, his contribution to the field of mathematics is incredible.

Secondly, Albert Einstein – a revolutionary scientist- was born in Germany. He spent his early life working outside of academia. He was not known as a scientist until he published his most important paper ‘the theory of general relativity’ which eventually came to be the foundation of modern physics. So, his contribution as a novice scientist is far-reaching.

Finally, Mrk Zuckerberg- a business magnet of the silicon valley- has revolutionized the information and technology by establishing a social network Facebook. Because of the Zuckerberg’s initiative, people around the world have now more access to communication than ever before. Mr. Zuckerberg was still a college student when he set up Facebook.

Admittedly, some may argue that it would be unjust for millions of experts if we attributed important contributions to only novices, but I think no one would refute the fact that most of the striking contributions are made by novices rather than experts.

By way of conclusion, even though we cannot underestimate the contributions of the experts, most of the important contribution are made by novices.