In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We, as a human race, are in the course of development; we are continually making our best endeavor in order to harness human capacity to understand this world. What is the motive behind it? Of course—our past achievements, that keeps us motivating. I generally agree with the author’s claim; however, the author completely denies the concept of pioneering. So, the validity of the claim is limited in certain circumstances.

In the first place, our guiding principles are based on our past achievements. They often show us a clear path towards the future. It is our past experience and knowledge that gives us way to rectify our mistakes in the future and leads to the success. By way example, in the 18th century, condition of education in Nepal was miserable, only a few schools were established, but they were far from the access of ordinary people. In the meantime, the incumbent prime-minister Janga Bdhur Rana made a royal visit to Britain. He got opportunity to observe the education system in Britain. In his short stay in Britain, he realized the importance of education. Later he came up with several plans for educational reforms in Nepal. He established schools in every village and encouraged people to go to school. His period is considered to be the golden age of education in Nepal.

In the second place, every person has its own role models and gets motivated by them. They want to follow on the footsteps of their role models. For example, a Swiss mathematician Leonhard Euler was a student of another mathematician Jacob Brunelli. When Euler first met Burnelli, he was impressed by the work of Burnelli in Complex Analysis. Then he devoted his life to advance the field of complex analysis. His contribution in the field of Complex Analysis not only benefited Mathematics but Physics and Engineering.

Admittedly, the author’s claim has some limitation as well. By using the word ‘impossible’ in his claim, the author precluded the possibility of new and innovative ideas. If we assume that important contribution to any field is not possible without being influenced by past achievement, we reach in a contradictory situation. In the thousands of years of human civilization, there were persons who pioneered different field of study such as: Art, Literature, Science and so forth. At the very beginning of the human civilization there were no such past achievements. Every field of endeavor was at nascent stage. It is because of the intuition and completely new ideas of some people that human race has been able to advance up to today’s stage.

In conclusion, even though some people might have contributed in their field of endeavor without being much influenced by past achievement, but in most of the cases people have made important contribution by being motivated and guided by past achievements.