In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

What shaped the present day’s inventions? Was it the passion of the creators or the necessity? Yes, both of them contributed, yet, the power of imagination was the basis of numerous creations and still is. I agree to the prompt that training students in writing poems, novels and stories engenders a highly capable individual. There are two reasons for me to assert this recommendation.

First of all, the ability to imagine the unimagined instills profuse creativity in a person. Creative people are thus are able to solve problems faced in daily-lives. Any activity that enhances such trait, results in betterment of human’s lives in technology, philosophy ,and many other fields. For instance, famous motivational speaker Jay Shetty, started writing books, in the due course, he understood better about “life”. In addition, there are many such instances where when individuals starteda applying their creative and imaginative skills, eventually finding newer meanings and become better individuals. Further, famous poet, Rumi, discovered the depth of life when he started writing poetry. Had he overlooked his writing talent, the world would have missed valuable epithets. Hypothetically, if humans had lost their visualization and creative power, would the world function as it is doing now? Many knowledge-imparting literature that acts as an anodyne for many, technological advancements like T.V, internet and mobile phones, would not have seen its inception. Thus, if students are given opportunities to inculcate imaginative skill through poetry, novels and literature, better creations would engender in the society.

Secondly, in a competitive world like today, varied interests persists in students. Many are unsure on which path to take. Such students may find their area of passion, if schools and universities take courses on writing. For instance, if a student inherently has the talent to allure audience with his/her writing skills, and unfortunately was unware this, such programs will help the individual find his talent and eventually help him/her to succeed in the field. In addition, in the society where unemployment is seeing its surge, any additional skills enhances the financial survival of a person. For example, a student trained to write stories and novels during schooling, will inculcate the talent and eventually if his passion or job did not turn his/her way, this extracurricular skill will aid in survival.

In conclusion, I agree to the prompt that courses on writing literature will make an individual an all-rounder, firstly it will aid him/her in creating better inventions (also includes better solutions for daily problems), secondly, by providing an alternative career as a fallback option.