The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor of the local newspaper in Masontown suggest that, to save money in garabage disposal, recyclcing of waste should be initiated. The author concludes that, by running an advertisement campanign, importance of the process can be reached to the crowd. The writer's contention might be true, but, there are three questions to be answered to assess the persuasiveness of the recommendation.

First of all, is the the case of Hayesworth comparable to that of Masontown? This might not be true, there might have been various factors that could have influenced the declining disposal rates. For instance, the population of Hayesworth might have been lesser, and this might be the reason for easier implementation of recycling process in the place. Perhaps, the residents of the locality were servile and subservient to the law and government, this might have led the people to follow the law without questions. Perhaps, the population of Masontown is too large to implement any law effectively. When population increases it becomes difficult for the governing body to carry out any reforms, because it is practically impossible to ensure adherence to the law among public. In addition, what if the people of Masontown were dissident towards any law imposed in the place, due to dissatisfaction on the present government. Therefore, there might have been a plethora of reasons for the success of recycling process in Hayesworth, comparing such circumstances of another place to Masontown is questionable. Hence, the author is required to provide elaborate data on the reasons for the big success of Hayesworth's waste disposal program.

Secondly, are advertisements having reforming impact on the public? Perhaps, this might not be true. Advertisements these days do not function as effectively as it used to be. For instance, the viewers of such promotional activity watch it as a mere form of entertainment and not awareness program. These days, no matter what the medium is, TV, mobile or internet, service providers give an option to skip advertisements. In such instances, the awareness program might not reach the targeted audience, thus losing money and eventually weaking the purpose of advertising the recycling process. Thus, it is not guaranteed that advertisements will ensure the public to follow the recycling process. It is of top priority of the writer to prove the efficieny of promoting the method by advertisement.

In conclusion, the writer must answer all the questions stated previously. Further, corroborating the answers with statistically backed data, will strengthen the recommendation.