The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What defines “Nation”? It is an entity comprising of various individuals, living in harmony. This definition concludes that a country’s important concern is the plight of its compatriots. Hence, I agree with the prompt that a nation’s greateness is decided by the welfare of its residents, for three reasons, elucidated further. However, I do concede that, achievements of scientists, politicians and leaders does contribute to a country’s significance.

First and foremost, any governmental entity is elected to better the welfare of its people. Eventually, if the government has the concern for its citizens, the environment of the country will be made better. For instance, after the British left India, the succeeding government wanted to make the nation conducive for its citizens, whom had various problems like, caste-based discrimination, financial issues and huge famines causing deaths of deared ones. Thus, necessary measures were taken to eradicate such problems, by subsequent governments. Today, India is one of the top performing nations in the world, be it in the field of science, technology, or sports. All the efforts taken by the governement helped its citizens lead better lives, today, thus the present-day welfare of people of India, prove that a country’s greatness can be assessed by the lifestyle of its citizens.

In contrast, the achievements by scholars, leaders and scientists, are in no way lesser than the nation’s welfare, acting as a good indicator of a country’s greatness. Countries today, are identified by their advancements in various sectors. For example, despite many controversies surrounding China, it is still exalted as pioneers in science and technology. Most of the electronic gadgets are assembled in China for better prices and good quality. This paved way for top companies to invest in China. Such technological advancements does prove the country’s standing.

Finally, both the achievements of the country’s personalites as well as the plights of its citizens, act as an indicator of the country’s efficiency. Achievements of poets and writers, prove the nation’s literary capabilities, scientists emphasize its technological advancements and eminent leaders guarantees the country’s social order. On the other hand, welfare of the people is maintained only when government takes good care of its people, by providing better infrastructure and facilities. Thus, being a good indicator of a nation’s capability, as well.