The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the years, many individuals in the field of science, arts, and politics, have been extoled for their greatness by their contemprories. Thus, I disagree with the claim that people living after the legends decide their talent and power. There are three reasons for me to take this stand, which will be elucidated further. However, I do concede that in few instances, involving niche fields, and controversial personalities, peers decide the greatness of individuals.

First and foremost, competition decides the better among the lot. On similar lines, contemprories who compete with each other, eventually succumb to the undefeatable winner. For a supporting example, take into the consideration of any political party that has come to power recently. In such instances, the leader of the winning party is always praised and declared impregnable by the public. But, what ingrained such thoughts in the minds of the voters and the public? It is not just the talent and strategies adopted by the leader, but, the competing party’s loss that engender the greatness of the leader. Since an individual is able to strive and come to power defeating his/her peers, the shrewdness of the individual becomes evident. Going as per the claim, if the same leader is inherited or replaced by an another person, no matter if that leader is adept or not, the previous leader’s capabilities are already established and does not need the succeeding person’s help to evaluate the efficiency of the preceding leader. Hence, the above example in the political arena, proves that the greateness of any individual is decided by his/her peers.

Secondly, even if people who live after an individual, decides the greatness of the predecessor, such analysis will be unwarranted and faulty. For example, Arjun Tendulkar, son of Sachin Tendulkar (a famous Indian cricketer) , did not reach to the heights of his father, who bagged many accolades for the country as well his talent. In such cases, the deftness of Sachin cannot be decided by his son’s capablilites, because both are different on many grounds. Arjun (Sachin’s son), is not as good batsman as his father, as per the prompt, then Sachin should also be not as talented as he is now. Thereby declaring Sachin as a bad cricketer, but, in reality this is not true. This contrasting example proves that people who live after cannot decide an individual strength and greatness.

In conclusion, I strong disagree with the prompt and without doubt concede that peers of a person decide the greatness of an individual, for the above reasons. However, I do accept that in cases of controversial figures, who are prone to hatred of their contemprories, or individuals belonging to niche fields, where competitors are low, people who live after them decide their greatness.