The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The summary of the study on headaches suffered by the people of Mentia concludes that, by incorporating salicylates as food additives, number of people suffering from headaches can be reduced significantly. The author evidences this to a twenty-year survey, which ascribed the decline in headaches to increase in usage of salicylates as food preservatives by food processing company. The writer’s contention might be true, but there are two pieces of evidences that must be provided to assess the persuasiveness of the recommendation.

First of all, the author assumes that, the study that correlated usage of salicylates and plummeting of headaches is credible. What if the study was conducted by unscientific methods? For instance, food-processing companies, in an attempt to increase the sales of their products might have conducted this study. Such companies might have invested billions of dollars to set up its businesses, as a promotional tool chain of companies might have initiated the survey. Perhaps, the organization that executed the survey was forced to manipulate the results in favor of corporate giants. In addition, the survey might have been conducted with inexperienced people, thus weakening the authenticity. Therefore, there are numerous possibilities for tampered and fabricated survey results. Thus, it is necessary for the author to provide intricate details of the survey, like the qualification of the individuals who lead the study and statistical data of the people participated.

Secondly, the writers assumes that salicylates belonging to the same family of Aspirin, will cure headaches. Perhaps, in reality this may be the opposite. Despite, being a part of the same family, salicylate might aggravate the flow of blood to the head, thereby increasing the blood pressure. Such instances of increased blood-flow to brain, may cause severe headaches. In addition, the properties if salicylates may be different from Aspirin, yet biologists categorized it under the same family due to similar structural feature. Or, scientists in the field wrongly featured the substance under the same kin as Aspirin. Hence, there can be many reasons for salicylates to have different, perhaps, even contrasting properties as that of Aspirin. Therefore, the necessity of providing scientific and chemical study to support the claim of salicylates to cure headaches is of top priority.

Further, the author assumes that rise in usage of salicylates was the prime reason for decrease in headache among people. This seems to be based on unwarranted assumption, as there might have been a plethora of reasons for the decline in headaches. For example, the rising concern of headaches, motivated the public to lesser their usage of mobile and laptops. Or even, the recent emergence of yoga might have calmed the tensed minds, and eventually lessened headaches in people. Perhaps, an anodyne was produced that could have decreased the headaches. Thus, there might have been various reasons for the decline. It is necessary for the writer to support with evidences proving his claim.

In conclusion, the author’s recommendation is based on faulty and questionable assumption, to make his/her proposal strong and credible, statistically backed evidences are needed.