Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments have the responsibility to anticipate risks and potential dangers beforehand. Yet, dwelling too much in the future, leads to loosing focus on imminent problems. Hence I mostly agree to the prompt that governments must focus on solving immediate issues, for three reasons, which will be elucidated further.

First of all, if we solve the current problems faced by the public, eventually upcoming issues will get resolved without putting much effort. For instance, the Indian government, after its independence from Brtishers, understood caste based discrimination to be prevalent in many parts of the country. Thus, emphasized the need for reservation (a policy to help the under-privileged). This eventually helped engender equality and provided opportunities in studies, jobs and businesses for the socially , and economically backwardclass. The government that introduced the reservation system, implemented it to solve the current problem of their time, that is, oppression on the basis of caste and religion, but, in the subsequent years, the same system proved beneficial to solve social and financial problems in the country. Had the government overlooked the discrimination faced by many people, and put efforts in solving a problem that would come into existence after decades, the turmoil of that day, would not got a solution.

Secondly, what gurantees the occurrence of a problem in the future? Many instances in the world be it in the field of science, politics, or even in life, anticipating a definite future proves futile in most cases. For instance, if a government foresees an apocalypse and takes necessary precautions to survive and fight the nature, and witnesses the the day never came, it would have brought huge financial and time loss for the nation. In addition, in most of the democratically elected governments, the power is going to be changed every few years, having a long term commitment, like trying to solve a futuristic problem, can be squashed by the subsequent government, thus, wasting people’s taxes. Therefore, focusing on issues that might not even occur in the future, puts a nation to a financial loss.

Finally, if a government choses to focus on the present day problems, majority of the common issues faced by the public, witnesses solution. For example, the conjested roads of Chennai (city on South India), were responsible for the delay of office-goers and sometimes even death. To overcome the problem, the government decided to build flyovers and bridges all over the city to ease out traffic jams. Today, Chennai is the city with most number of flyovers in the Asian continent.

In conclusion, I strongly agree to the prompt that the government should focus on immediate problems, rather than a problem that would come in future, for the above stated reasons.