The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article written by Dr. Karp concludes that the observation of Dr. Field on children of Tertia being reared by the whole village and not their own parents, is based on unwarranted approaches and the results of his study was incorrect. Karp evidences his argument with the interview he conducted recently with the children of Tertia. The author’s contention might be true, but there are three pieces of evidence he needs to provide to strengthen his persuasiveness.

First of all, Karp assumes that the interview he conducted recently with the children of Tertia were the same children Field observed. Perhaps, both the children were different. For instance, there could have been a major migration after teenage and the present-day children are different from what Field had observed. This might have resulted in the discrepancy which was found during the interview. Probably, the village of Tertia might have gotten mixed with people of other villages. This might have led to cross-marriage between the people of different villages, hence explaining the reason for the children’s attachment with parents. In addition, there might also be a chance that Karp interviewed the children of the neighboring village, who came for shelter in Tertia. Hence, there are various possibilities of the children not belonging to the native village. Thus, the writer should present evidences elucidating the authenticity of the children interviewed, whether they belonged traditionally to Tertia.

Secondly, the author is under assumption that interview-based approach is better that observation-based method. Perhaps, in reality, this may not be true. For example, interview-based observation might be influenced by personal grudges and vindictive nature of individuals. If this happens to be the case, the result of any observation, derived from interview-based method, is of questionable authenticity and believability. On the other hand, observational approach might be more believable because of the absence of personal animosity and thus could be neutral. Moreover, when studies are based on observation, it is easier to get an overall picture, but in the case of interview based approach, the study is restricted to the knowledge of the individuals being interviewed. Thus, Karp is compelled to provide evidences on what makes interview-based study better than observational approach.

In conclusion, in order to strengthen the claim of Karp that Dr. Field’s study of children in Tertia is fallacious, the above evidences are needed to be provided to assess the credibility of his (Karp) argument. Evidences pertaining to details of the children, Dr. Karp interviewed and what makes interview-based approach better, will help in assessing his argument better.