The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Common traits among many eminent leaders are compassion, sympathy and ability to commiserate. All theses qualities (mentioned previously), are resultant of their cooperative nature. Therefore, I agree to the prompt that, by instilling cooperation in young people, prominent leaders will emerge in a society. However, I do concede that in some instances inculcating competitve behaviour proves beneficial.

Firstly, what defines a society? Society is an entity comprising of symbiotic social beings, that is, humans are inter-dependent on each other to achieve their passion. The definition of "society" asserts the importance of cooperation, to live harmoniously with each other. For instance, most of the students ultimately aim for a lucrative job, leading teams. When youth get into such jobs, they are expected to work as a team player, however, many students find it difficult to work alongside with peers. Moreover, this problem devolves into a worser form, when employees start leading projects, struggling to ensure cooperation among teamates. This setback in many employees emphasizes the need to incorporate "cooperation" in students in early stages of their schooling, to ensure a smooth transition to worklife.

Second of all, good leaders are marked by their ability to respect peers. If an individual has the ability to cooperate with his/her colleagues, respect and trust is built. Leaders are identified by their accessibility and the talent to co-exist helps them achieve this. For example, the former president of India, A.P.J Abdul Kalam, was cooperative with his seniors and peers, this built a sense of trust in employeers, thereby giving him an opportunity to lead a space mission, within few years of starting his career. Later, this talent of cooperation gave him recognition worldwide, becoming the president of India. Had he not practiced co-existing with his peers, he would not have achieved great height.

In conclusion, the above instances evidences the need to incorporate the sense of cooperation in youth to make them better leaders. In contrast, the sense of competition too helps in upbringing good leaders, but mere competition might make one selfish and presumptous, diluting the traits of a good leader. Thus, competition is not of primary importance.