Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

If an action leads to any disturbance or bad outcomes, even at the minimum extent, the result, despite having postive influence, is considered morally corrupt. In addition, the purpose of any journey is to relish the process, result being secondary.Thus, I disagree to both the claim as well as the reason, for two reasons, which will be elucidated subsequently.

Firstly, the journey and the process of attaining goals, is the key aspect, not the outcome. Without the travel, the result, no matter positive or negative, is meaningless.A famous incident quoted by former Indian president, A.P.J Abdul Kalam is, when he led his first mission to send a communication satellite to the space, the program, due to capricious atmospheric conditions, failed badly. This left him (Abdul Kalam) in shatters. He had to answer the media's fierce questions and accept his failure. But, during the course of building the rocket, he came across an obstacle of reducing the satellite's weight, thus, he and his team syntheissed a new compound that weighed less and could bear huge temperatures. Few years later, during his visit to a physically challenged hospital, an euphany struck him, this led him to use the compound he and his team had found earlier as amputes. Had he not focussed on the process, a chemical substance used in a disparate field (space science), could not have been put into use in another (medical). Thus, the importance of being aware of the process is of priority than the outcome.

Second of all, analogous to what most country's justice system propagates, an innocent shall not be punished under any circumstance, even a miniute bad effect of an action should be curtailed immediately. If an action has an overall positive outcome, but few side-effects, the majority who are not affected will savour, but it will take a toll on the affected people. For example, the emergence of nuclear power plants in many countries, can serve as a huge opportunity to prosper in economy and infrastructure. The question is what is the plight of the people residing near the plant, or will the lives of people working in the plant be given assurance by the government or public? The answer is "no". Despite, such power plants aid in leading a better and a comfortable lifestyle, there are many associated perils, but, the majority are not affected, yet, we need to care and have consideration for the people that may get affected. Therefore, if an action proves to be a danger, even for a few, the overall aim is weakened.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree to the claims and reasons supported by the prompt because, the travel to complete an action is the important part, irrespective of the result and if that travel or action affects even a substantial number of people, the purpose of the action is diluted.